GCC 2013 Conference - Things To Do

2013 Graduate Career Consortium

Home
Call for Programs
Agenda
Lodging
Registration
Sponsorship
Directions
What To Bring
Things To Do

Things To Do In Chicago

2013 GCC Registration Button

Popular Attractions

Architecture Tours – Go on a guided tour by boat, bus, or on foot (http://www.architecture.org/tours)

Chicago Cubs – See the Cubs at historic Wrigley Field (http://chicago.cubs.mlb.com/index.jsp?c_id=chc)

Chicago Park District – Visit one of Chicago’s 570 parks located throughout the city. Features include baseball fields, pools, and beaches (http://www.chicagoparkdistrict.com/)

Chicago White Sox – See the White Sox at U.S. Cellular Field (http://chicago.whitesox.mlb.com/index.jsp?c_id=cws)

Hancock Observatory – View the city from the 94th floor of the 3rd tallest building in Chicago; cocktail lounge is also great for viewing (http://www.jhochicago.com/en/)

Lincoln Park Zoo – Daily free admission (http://www.lpzoo.org/)

Magnificent Mile – Enjoy upscale shopping and dining (http://www.themagnificentmile.com/)

Millennium Park – Take a picture in front of the 110-ton steel “Cloud Gate” sculpture nicknamed “The Bean” and cool off underneath Crown Fountain
(http://www.cityofchicago.org/city/en/depts/dca/supp_info/millennium_park.html

Navy Pier – Amusement park atmosphere with great views of the skyline: boat rides, museums, theatres, shopping, and a Ferris wheel; also home to the Chicago Shakespeare Theatre (http://www.navypier.com/)

Willis Tower Skydeck – Formerly the Sears Tower: see views of the city from the tallest building in the U.S. (http://www.theskydeck.com/)

Museums

Art Institute of Chicago (free on Thursdays from 5-8 pm) (http://www.artic.edu/)

Chicago History Museum (http://www.chicagohistory.org/)

Field Museum (http://fieldmuseum.org/)

Concert/Performance Venues

Chicago Jazz/Blues: Jazz Showcase (http://www.jazzshowcase.com/)

Buddy Guy’s Legends (http://www.buddyguy.com/)

Goodman Theatre (http://www.goodmantheatre.org/)

Grant Park Music Festival at Millennium Park (http://www.grantparkmusicfestival.com/)

Second City (one of America’s premier comedy clubs) (http://www.secondcity.com/?id=theatres/chicago)

Steppenwolf Theatre (http://www.steppenwolf.org/)

Excursions

Oak Park (Chicago suburbs, convenient public transit via Green Line): Two famous former residents include Frank Lloyd Wright (homes and studio) (http://www.gowright.org/) and Ernest Hemingway (birthplace and museum) (http://www.ehfop.org/)

Publications

For more ideas about what to see and do,

Chicago Reader

Red Eye

Time Out