The James A. Burns, C.S.C., Graduate School Award:
Past Winners

The James A. Burns, C.S.C., Graduate School Award is given annually to a faculty member for distinction in graduate teaching or other exemplary contribution to graduate education. For more information on nomination requirements and deadlines, see the award description page.


Year Name (Program)
2018 Edward Maginn (Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering)
2017 Patrick Griffin (History)
2016 Catherine Zuckert (Political Science)
2016 Jeffrey Feder (Biological Sciences)
2015 Michael Detlefsen (Philosophy)
2014 Thomas Corke (Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering)
2013 Jennifer Tank (Biological Sciences)
2012 James VanderKam (Theology) and John Van Engen (History)
2011 Marvin Miller (Chemistry and Biochemistry)
2010 Alvin Plantinga (Philosophy)
2009 Danny Chen (Computer Science and Engineering)
2008 E. Mark Cummings (Psychology) and Mark Stadtherr (Chemical Engineering)
2007 Julia Knight (Mathematics)
2006 John Cavadini (Theology) and Dan Costello (Electrical Engineering)
2005 Scott Mainwaring (Political Science)
2004 Gary Lamberti (Biological Sciences)
2003 Joan Brennecke (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
2002 Cindy Bergeman (Psychology)
2001 Rev. Ernan McMullin (Philosophy)
2000 Katherine O’Brien O’Keeffe (English)
1999 Gail Bederman (History)
1998 David Leege (Political Science) and Thomas Mueller (Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering)
1997 Arvind Varma (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
1996 Jeanne Day (Psychology)
1995 Robert C. Johansen (Political Science) and Kwang-tzu Yang (Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering)
1994 Joan Aldous (Sociology) and Francis J. Castellino (Chemistry/Biochemistry)
1993 Scott Maxwell (Psychology)
1992 Wilhelm Stoll (Mathematics)
1991 Lawrence Marsh (Economics)
1990 Rev. Ernan McMullin (Philosophy)