Graduate Research Symposium Award Winners Announced

Author: Mary Hendriksen

2011 Graduate Research Symposium winners

The Graduate Student Union (GSU) hosted Notre Dame’s third annual Graduate Research Symposium on Friday, Feb. 4. The symposium showcased the accomplishments of Notre Dame graduate students in the Graduate School’s four divisions: engineering, humanities, science, and social science. Attended by graduate and undergraduate students, faculty, and community visitors, the goal of the event was to provide a scholarly but informal environment to facilitate conversations between graduate students and symposium guests.

The winners in each category:


  • First place: Edit Varga, Electrical Engineering
    Experimental Demonstration of New Nanomagnetic Logic Devices
  • Second place: Punit Bandi, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
    Design of Crashworthy Structures Using Compliant Mechanism Approach


  • First place: Patrick Mello, English
    Sir Charles Grandison and the Post-Jacobite Novel
  • Second place: Brandon Cook, Medieval Studies
    Spiritually Sensuous Sojourns: Pilgrimage and the Senses in the Eulogiai of the St. Simeon the Stylite


  • First place: John Engbers, Mathematics
    The Typical Structure of Propoer Colorings of the Discrete Hypercube
  • Second place:. Patrick Shirey, Biological Sciences
    An Interdisciplinary Approach to Informing Ecological Restoration and Environmental Management

Social Sciences (two first-place awards):

  • Chadwick Curtis, Economics
    Economic Reform and Factors of Production in China
  • Elizabeth Munnich, Economics
    The Labor Market Effects of California’s Minimum Nurse Staffing Law

The symposium was supported by the Graduate School, and the colleges of engineering, science, and arts and letters.