Generous Funding for Graduate Students: The Richard and Peggy Notebaert Premier Fellowships

Author: Shari Hill

In 2008, Richard Notebaert, chair of the University of Notre Dame’s Board of Trustees, and his wife, Peggy, made a $10 million gift to fund a wide-ranging new fellowship initiative in the University’s Graduate School.

Named the Richard and Peggy Notebaert Premier Fellowships, these new fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis to each year’s top doctoral prospects. They provide up to six years of funding that covers full tuition, health insurance, and a stipend that is among the most generous in the nation. Fellows also have priority in accessing professional development funds, including grants for conference travel and presentations, travel for research purposes, and related professional activities.

The first class of Notebaert fellows entered the University in the 2008-2009 academic year. They are: Peter Greene (History), Ryan Hoens (Computer Science and Engineering), Timothy Miller (English), John Sehorn (Theology), and Jason Tomko (Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering).

All students accepted into a doctoral program at Notre Dame are considered for a Notebaert Fellowship, as well as for many other prestigious fellowships.

Original press release: News and Information