The Graduate School is accepting nominations for three existing awards that will be presented at Commencement on May 20, 2017:

Author: Aaron Bell

The James A. Burns, C.S.C. Award is given annually to a faculty member for distinction in graduate teaching or another exemplary contribution to graduate education, such as building or developing a graduate program; outstanding service in teaching graduate courses; serving as an advisor or thesis director; or securing training grants (e.g. DOE Read More

Graduate School to Bestow Inaugural “Notebaert Award” at 2017 Commencement Exercises

Author: Aaron Bell

Laura Carlson, Dean of the Graduate School, announced Monday that the inaugural “Notebaert Award,” named in honor of Richard C. Notebaert, chairman emeritus of the University of Notre Dame Board of Trustees, and his wife, Peggy, will be presented to a Notre Dame faculty or staff member at the Graduate School Commencement Exercises on Saturday, May 20, 2017.  Read More

Applications Now Open for the Naughton Fellowships

Author: Joanne Fahey

Trinity 250

The University of Notre Dame has opened its annual competition for the Naughton Fellowships. The prestigious international fellowships provide funding for exceptional Ph.D., masters, or undergraduate students with an aptitude for the STEM disciplines to complete research or study in Ireland or at Notre Dame. Read More

Graduate School to Host Second Annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition

Author: Aaron Bell

The Graduate School will host it’s second annual Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition beginning with a November 9, Kickoff Event from 5 to 6 p.m. at Legends of Notre Dame. Ph.D. graduate students who have completed their candidacy exams can compete in 3MT®. All graduate students can attend Professional Development workshops related to 3MT to strengthen and polish their presentation skills. If interested, you may register for the Kickoff Event here. Qualifying heats begin in late February 2017 and will culminate in a Final Event on March 23 with a first prize of $2,000. Read More