Three Engineering Finalists Join Growing Field in Build Up to Shaheen 3MT® Finals

Author: Aaron Bell

2019 3MT Engineering Finalists 700k jpgJessica Schiltz, Monica Arul Jayachandran and Sarajane Roenke will represent the Engineering division in the 3MT® Finals


Three finalists from the College of Engineering were chosen from a competitive field of participants in the Three Minute Thesis Competition on Tuesday night in Geddes Hall. Jessica Schiltz (doctoral student, Bioengineering), Monica Arul Jayachandran and Sarajane Roenke (doctoral students, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences) stood out in a field of 21 competitors and will move on to the finals on February 28 at 5:00 p.m. in the Patricia George Decio Theatre of the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center.


The 3MT® competition challenges masters and Ph.D. students from across all disciplines to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. Competitors address a panel of judges in front of a live audience. Their presentations can only be accompanied by a single PowerPoint slide.

In addition to the four presenters and the judges, the auditorium was alive with friends, colleagues and interested spectators taking in the night’s action.

The evening’s judges were Kenneth Christensen, Viola D. Hank Professor of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering and Department Chair; Ashley Thrall, Myron and Rosemary Noble Associate Professor of Structural Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences; Edward Maginn, Dorini Family Professor of Energy Studies and Department Chair, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Professor, Energy Studies, Engineering; Leo McWilliams, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs and Director of Minority Engineering Programs, College of Engineering.


For more information about the Shaheen Three Minute Thesis (3MT® ) competition, visit