Three Finalists Selected in First Round of Shaheen 3MT® Competition

Author: Aaron Bell

2019 Arts & Letters / Keough Division Qualificatin Winners 600k jpgMallika Sarma, Jamie McClung and Ryan Egan move on to the Finals of the 2019 3MT® Competition

The College of Arts & Letters/Keough School of Global Affairs Division of the Shaheen Three Minute Thesis (3MT® ) qualification round kicked off Monday night at Andrews Auditorium in Geddes Hall. Jamie McClung (masters student, Global Affairs), Mallika Sarma (doctoral student, Anthropology), and Ryan Egan (doctoral student, Psychology) took the top three spots, and will go on to compete at the 3MT® Finals event on February 28 at 5:00 p.m. in Jordan Auditorium, Mendoza College of Business. They will be joined by the as-yet unnamed finalists from the Engineering and Science divisions.

The 3MT® competition challenges masters and Ph.D. students from across all disciplines to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. Competitors address a panel of judges in front of a live audience. Their presentations can only be accompanied by a single PowerPoint slide.

In addition to the four presenters and the judges, the audience included colleagues, siblings and friends who came in a show of support for the competitors.

Judging the evening’s Arts & Letters/Keough qualifying round were, Austin Collins, C.S.C., Professor, Sculpture; Sara Sievers, Associate Professional Specialist, Associate Dean for Policy and Practice, Keough School of Global Affairs; James Sullivan, Professor, Rev. Thomas J. McDonagh, C.S.C.  Collegiate Chair in Economics; Elliott Visconsi, Associate Provost and Chief Academic Digital Officer, Associate Professor, English; Christina Wolbrecht, Professor, Political Science and the Francis and Kathleen Rooney Center for the Study of American Democracy.

For more information about the Shaheen Three Minute Thesis (3MT® ) competition, visit