James A. Burns, C.S.C. Award

Nominations Due

Nominations for Commencement 2018 awards are now closed.

Description of the Award

The James A. Burns, C.S.C., Graduate School Award is given annually to a faculty member for distinction in graduate teaching or other exemplary contribution to graduate education. The recipient will receive a citation and a cash prize.

See a list of past Burns Award winners.

Eligibility Criteria

A nominee should be a tenured member of the faculty in the College of Arts and Letters, the College of Engineering, or the College of Science.

The Burns Award is primarily to recognize outstanding contributions to the formation of graduate students or graduate programs. Contributions to graduate education include any or all of the following: Building or developing a graduate program, outstanding teaching in graduate courses, excellence as an adviser or thesis director, securing training grants (e.g., from DOE, NIH, NSF) to fund graduate students, and excellence in service as a director of graduate studies or in any other similar position.

A separate award that concentrates specifically on faculty research is offered through Notre Dame Research.

Award winners must be able to attend the Graduate School Awards Dinner on Friday, May 18, 2018, when the award will be presented, and the Graduate School Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, May 19, 2018.

Nomination Procedure

Department chairs, academic deans, faculty colleagues, and students are invited to submit a nomination for the Burns Award. All nominations should be submitted here.

Selection Committee

The selection committee will consist of three recent Burns Award winners and the Dean of the Graduate School or a designate.